August Expense/Income Numbers

I’m going to be putting up a monthly post on expenses and income numbers.  It’ll be pretty basic but include everything.  Cash expenses are hard to track but I don’t make too many of them either.  August was a terrible month for me on expenses. I went to Packers training camp, bought a recliner that was necessary for the living room, spent money on my car brakes getting repaired, bought my girl an iPad for our 2 year anniversary, and upgraded my cell phone which was dying.  On top of the usual expenses of rent, food, gas , student loan, cell phone and others.  Not to mention I was laid off for 14 days rendering three severely hampered pay checks.  All in all, I had a terrible month for expenses and will be making it up by budgeting hard and having full paychecks again.

Expenses

Rent
400

Insurance and Phone
88.00

Student Loan
57.70 

Credit Card
2322.55 (1400 Payment)

Total Expenses:
2868.95

Income

Check 1
429.48
Check 2
331.11
Check 3
265.00
Check 4
265.00
Check 5
514.10

401k
30.72

Credit Card Cash Back:
~33.50

Ford Dividend:
.63

Money Market Dividend:
.70

Total Income:
1870.24

Total Difference:
-998.71

Again, a very tough month for me.  Extra expenses killed me this month.  I have started a budget and will no longer be spending money on silly stuff.  I could have prevented all of it other than my car, but I had a splurge month.  Now with my indefinite layoff at work announced, it’s hardcore budgeting and responsible spending/saving!

Leave a Reply

