Welcome.

Welcome to myself and anyone who may be reading… So, probably just myself.  I’ve never done this blogging business before so I will just wing it and hope for the best.  It’s a new thing to try and I’m hoping it provides additional motivation and helps keep me on track of my goals.  I also hope to connect with other people like myself who are starting from a limited amount of income and  are planning on maximizing it.  I’ll start off with a little about my main goals and how I plan to achieve them.  It is my wish to eventually achieve “financial freedom” through various avenues of investment.  My definition of financial freedom is being able to live a happy (not particularly celebrity rich status) life and not have to worry about spending the majority of my time at work 40+ hours per week, like many other folks do.  The avenues I have in mind are more traditional; things like long term stock & dividend investment, bonds, precious metals, retirement funds, real-estate and land investment.  Other possibilities include investing in businesses, starting small businesses, publishing books, and others.

This is something I have wanted to do for a long time and it’s time to get started as soon as I can.  I was about to get this going recently but I just found out I am losing my job (thanks John Deere) so it’s going on a temporary hold until I can get something straightened out.  I do have some student loans, and low credit card debt with ZERO APR (I pay in full every month, unless I have 0% APR).  Besides that, I am debt-free.  I had a Roth 401k going via Fidelity but I will no longer be able to contribute to that thanks to my job loss.  I am starting a Vanguard Roth IRA in the near future once I have a steady job.  I have a small portfolio that I started a while ago (literally, tiny) and will continue to expand upon when the time is right.  I also have an incredibly wealthy friend who is on my side, and has given me experience with stock trading and is there for knowledge.

A little about myself.  I’m a college grad with a Criminology Bachelor’s Degree.  My aspirations were to go into law enforcement, and still are, but I am open to all avenues that life has to offer.  Especially one that would help contribute the most to my investing goals.  My main goal right now is to look for a means to an end; that is, the best job for me that allows me to rake in as much dough as possible to build up for my future retirement.  I am an Eagle Scout and a small town kid.  I am a massive Green Bay Packers fan and even have a Green Bay tattoo.  I love shooting guns, playing computer/PS3 (Madden), and drawing.  At 23 years, I’ve had plenty of life experience but have an incredible amount to still learn.  I’ve got an insane attachment to my friends, close family members, and my girlfriend.  Before all else, including money, comes those folks.  Life would be useless without them.  And what better motivation to succeed in my goals than knowing if I do, more time can be spent with them and less slaving away at a job?  It doesn’t get much more inspiring than that.

Thanks for reading.  Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Welcome.

  1. Hey,
    I just stumbled across your blog today, and actually just published my first post on my own blog as well. I’ll bookmark your site and follow along. Here’s to nothing, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

